Occupational Therapy, take 2.

Standard

Well, last week Booga had an appointment at a new therapists office to determine if he does now qualify for some sort of therapy.  It’s been a long time coming, as he has started running away from sunday school and having to leave his other preschool program for lack of… ‘cooperation’, we’ll call it ;)  Thank goodness for friends who know what I’m talking about because someone gave me a phone number and within days I not only had an appointment, but very good news; he was accepted!

It’s been obvious to me for awhile now that his symptoms are not getting any better, although the vest does help in certain situations.  He has started climbing again; he’s been found higher than my head on 3 occasions in the past 2 weeks, besides the times I’ve caught him climbing the outsides of the stair railings.  He’s been tackling, crashing and head-butting again; things I thought we had under control for the most part.  And he’s been reacting to foods and socks more than usual.  We’ve all been battling some serious illness and the big kids have been home for most of the past week, so part of what I’m seeing might just be sibling overload, but still, I’m seeing patterns that I was hoping would not return.

Part of my rush to get some therapy for him involved the note I got a few weeks ago about signing kids up for preschool.  Booga will be 5 in October, so he definitely has to go to a regular preschool next year.  And I just canNOT see that happening right now.  What I do see is him getting kicked out, and me wondering what to do with him!  I see him running away, crashing into other kids, climbing the toys, and refusing to do any work that involves sitting down.  In my teacher mind, I see him as the child that no teacher wants.  And that breaks my heart, because you couldn’t find a more lovable, creative, intelligent little boy!  But he definitely does not fit the “school” mold.  So it’s time for us to help him figure out how to control himself…at least a little bit more!

Thank goodness, this time around the therapist was more than ready to see that his sensory issues were not secondary; they are getting in the way of his “behavior modulation”.  Big words to say that trying to filter the senses make it hard for him to remember the rules.  And he is SO excited about going back to play in the big gym and work with his therapist.  I can’t wait to see what he’s doing tomorrow, and am so glad there is a place where he can be himself and not be misunderstood.

Therapy Part 2 for Squirt is, unfortunately, going to be a bit longer, because she cannot go during school hours, and has to be put on the waiting list.  Argh.  Because things are definitely not improving on their own on her front either.  A disappointing report card, a complete lack of control in the chewing problem, and the upcoming standardized tests have us hoping that list will go down quickly!!

About wildonesmama

I am a former teacher, current stay at home mom to 4 children. Squirt is 9, Boyo is 6, Booga is 4, and Scooter is 1. On our wild ride we are learning to navigate the world of Sensory Processing Disorder, and hope to help educate others about just what this special diagnosis means, how it changes the way kids see the world, and what parents, teachers, Sunday school teachers, and coaches can do to help.

4 responses »

  1. Oh dear; the child chews on literally everything she can put into her mouth. We’ve been through about 4 dozen pencils since school started. The erasers and even the metal on the ends is gone within a day of getting a new one. We give her chew tubes to put on them, but she loses them. She chews on paper, erasers, chalk, paper clips, or any little piece of garbage she can find. And it’s gotten progressively worse as this year goes on, so I’m going to have to say the stress of this school year has something to do with it!

  2. Our Big Monkey has major oral seeking behavior as well. I ended up using angry birds pencil toppers and found that they are both chewies and fidgets all in one! I am tired of mending the holes he chews in his shirts, though. One battle at a time. Fought, then won, then fought again. Tis’ the sensory life. I am so grateful for your blog!

Leave a Reply

